Okay so it’s been forever since I’ve posted, but I have been reading a LOT, so I decided to do a quick review-by-phone.  Of the most recent books that I’ve finished, I’ll tell you about the most memorable: All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr.  

First, you must know that this book was not an easy one for me.  I started, stopped, and then restarted it several times.  So I finally forced myself to stop procrastinating and took it along on a trip as the ONLY book instead of packing the usual three.  After finishing, I was proud of myself and was sorry I hadn’t read it sooner.  

Reader beware: this is not a light-hearted beach read.  It is, however, an enchanting, haunting, and incredibly moving book.  Doerr tells the stories of two young people during WWII in such beautiful language that this book eventually (maybe 1/3 of the way in) became difficult for me to put down.  I’m not usually one for historical fiction, but this book is incredible.    

If you want an interesting read for a book club, this would be my suggestion.  There’s so much to talk about.  It’s an important reminder of how blessed we are to have our families, health, and so many other gifts.  Let me know if you’ve read it and what you think!  

Gary gives it 4 paws.  

