Being human, we have a desire to connect with people, to communicate with and understand one another.  But at least once in our lives, we meet another person who we KNOW we know from somewhere else or feel as though we’ve met them previously.  It’s a bizarre sensation, but it happens to many of us.  I like to think of it in the same way I think of déjà vu: a reminder that you’re in the right place at the right time – you’re hitting all the flags on the carefully crafted path of life – even with free will thrown at you.  Look at you go!  It starts to make us question our existence and wonder why things around us work the way that they do.

Marcus Sedgwick’s Midwinterblood is the ALA’s Printz Award winner of 2014 and is a bizarre and twisting piece of fiction that explores the ideas of past and present lives.  I cannot write much about it without giving away its secrets – so please just take my word for it and READ IT!  I do not believe in reincarnation, but after reading this, I can understand why others might.  As an English teacher, it would be phenomenal to study in a class, yet it’s also a fun, interesting, quick read for those who do not want to analyze a text.  The use of patterns and symbols throughout the story connects every smaller story within it together and just – is awesome. I won’t say that I loved it – because that would be the wrong word, but I am fascinated by it.  I do not know how an author is able to carefully craft a story such as this one…  it’s beautiful, haunting, brilliant, and a true award winner.

Gary gives it four paws and asks that the lame cover not fool you!

2014 Printz Award Winner

