Sharon Creech’s “Walk Two Moons” is the most fantastic, hopeful, heartwarming story I’ve read in a very long time. You know how you wonder if those books with pretty medals glued to the cover are truly worth it? I’d give this book three of those medals. I’m the annoying reader – the one who wants to find out every minute detail right away so that I can jump into the pages with these characters. But this story “has it’s own agenda.” It will pull you in before you realize you’ve been pulled in and will unfold in good time (as my own mother reminds me), the way that life does.

Hailing from her beloved Bybanks, Kentucky and moving to Ohio has been nothing short of a culture shock for narrator and thirteen-year-old Salamanca Tree Hiddle. Layers of her story begin to unfold as readers meet the characters who surround her – all disturbing, funny, and charming individuals. Sal perfectly captures what my thirteen-year old self and heart were feeling – and still hold onto.

I cannot write too much about this story because it’s one that you just have to read and appreciate for the personal lessons you’ve learned during your life. Maybe you have a crazy set of grandparents who live their lives by “isms” as Sal and my own grandparents do. Maybe the relationship you have with your mother is not perfect – or perhaps it is. No matter what page you’re on in your own life, take three hours to read Sal’s pages. She’ll give you a little truth and a lot of hope. Huzzah huzzah!

Gary gives it ALL four paws.

garyw2m4

